Public Safety or Vengeance?

Or What’s this about castrating molesters?

I read last week about a politician in, I believe, Alabama, who is suggesting that the only way an adult who sexually assaults a child under the age of twelve should never be released from prison without being surgically sterilized.  I’m sorry if I don’t have the details quite right, I can’t even remember where I read it.    Thank You Sir!

I should preface the rest of this discussion by saying that I am a survivor, and don’t believe that I am speaking out of turn about this issue, however I also acknowledge that everyone’s experience is different and I do not speak for every survivor.

Now this notion stirs a lot of emotion in me and in people in general.  When I said “thank you” a little earlier, that doesn’t necessarily mean that I agree with him, but it did get me thinking, and that’s (almost) always a good thing.  You could approach his proposal from many different perspectives.  First there is the politically correct notion that it’s all about the protection of other children from being further victims of the same predator.  Secondly, there is the notion that it’s all about  punishment for what the offender has done.  Thirdly, there are the objectors who insist that this is an inhumane idea.  I will try to very briefly address these three, and I’d love it if you would add angles to this discussion that I didn’t address.

First- PUBLIC SAFETY.  Great idea.  Frankly, if the only way to make sure that a repeat offender couldn’t re-offend was to lock him away for life, I’d be all for that.  The question is, does surgical sterilization take away an abusive person’s sex drive or violent nature?  I’m not an expert on that, so comment away, I can’t prove anybody wrong on either side of that debate, and that would have to be answered before this viewpoint really could be validated.  I’m sure there are experts who believe in both positions on this.

Second- PUNISHMENT.  Okay, now here’s where emotions come into the discussion for me.  In this prior post- https://dueyvan.wordpress.com/2016/02/29/on-over-reaction – I discuss what it feels like for me to have my molester walking the streets.  I don’t have any sympathy for molesters, and I’m not sure I’d disagree with lifetime sentences or banishment from everyday society.  If I caught somebody molesting a kid, I’d probably be on trial for serious assault or murder.  So, I don’t think castration is excessive from that perspective.  But ultimately this is driven by a human desire for vengeance, and “Vengeance is mine, saith the Lord” is something I’ve heard often.  I’ve striven to forgive, and that’s darn hard to do.  This is such an emotional issue, and I could go on for hours about that.

Thirdly- INHUMANE-  Is it now?  Really, does someone who cannot respect the sexual rights of children, really deserve the right to maintain their own sexual life?  Is it really that brutal to expect someone to live the rest of their life without sex organs?  I think this argument is ludicrous, but I don’t really think a lot of sexual molesters and their rights.

If you’ve read this far, Thank You!  Please comment, and if you’d like to, feel free to share.

Duane

2 thoughts on “Public Safety or Vengeance?

  1. How brave if you to speak on this. I totally agree with your third point. Stop giving criminals rights or even caring about them. Sorry, not sorry. You forfeited your rights as a decent human being when you broke the innocence of a child. What bullshit. What a great point on such a difficult subject. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

