Thankful

Canadian Thanksgiving

On this 2016 Canadian Thanksgiving day I am sitting here, watching the snow accumulate, pondering my life.  So here goes-

I am grateful for a warm house to sit in and watch the snow pile up.

I am grateful that I don’t live in the Canada that comedians like to poke fun at.  I don’t travel by dogsled.  I don’t live in an igloo.  Snow this time of year, while not uncommon, is the exception rather than the rule for most Canadians.  including for my part of Canada.  We should be melted off and 16 degrees Celsius later this week.

I am so incredibly grateful for my three beautiful daughters.  They light up my life.  A few minutes ago the oldest poked me on Facebook.  so we chatted for a couple minutes.

I am grateful for my kids’ mom- my ex-wife.  While I often like to complain about her, I am grateful for the good times we had, for the three daughters she gave me, and for how well she takes care of them now.

I am grateful for my immediate and extended family.  My parents who are both in their sixties, and reasonably healthy.  My brothers and sisters, who all get along with each other, and all the nieces and nephews.  That extended family is so large that I don’t know most of their names if I meet them, but I guess that’s what happens when one’s grandparents have 16 kids, right?

I am grateful to be Canadian.  Living in a land which gives me the freedom to express myself without fear of consequences for my opinions.  Living in a land with good health care.

I am grateful for a good job that keeps me challenged and rewards me well for doing my job.  In that vein, I am grateful for the customers who support me, and the relationships that I have been able to build up with customers across western Canada.

Above all, I am grateful to God, who makes all of this possible, and offers eternal life to all who will believe in him.

And with this partial list of the blessings in my life ready for me to hit the “publish” button, I wish you all a fantastic day!  Now it’s time to go eat a Thanksgiving meal with my family.

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

